The Angaston & Penrice Historical Society was formed in 1997 with the objective to promote interest in the history and heritage of the Barossa’s Angaston & Penrice area. We answer family and local history queries and the archive can be viewed by appointment. We also conduct heritage walks of Angaston and have several books for sale.
President: Bill Gransbury
0438 083 559
Box 337 Angaston, SA 5353
4th Tuesday of the Month
Doddridge House, 21 Murray St Angaston
ANGASTON BLACKSMITH SHOP & MUSEUM
Our volunteers oversee the Angaston Blacksmith Shop and Museum – Doddridge Forge, in the main street of Angaston, which has been a fundamental part of life since it was established on the present site by John Doddridge in 1873. Representing an important part of the community’s heritage, it is now a heritage-listed site and is one of only four blacksmith shops in South Australia. READ MORE HERE
ANGASTON HISTORY CENTRE
The charming 1880s stone cottage at 21 Murray Street was the home of the Doddridge family for over 100 years – from 1880 to 1984. Now our local history and research centre, the society will host varying exhibitions throughout the year. Please call in when you see the open sign.
OLD UNION CHAPEL
Nestled in the Angaston hills, the Old Union Chapel was built in 1844 as a multi-denominational place of worship. It was given to the community by South Australian pioneer and committed believer in religious freedom, George Fife Angas who also gave Angaston its name. The oldest public building in the Barossa Valley, over the years the chapel has been used for many purposes – as a public meeting place, dried fruit store, a home during WWII when there was a shortage of housing, a shearing shed and a garage. It was fully restored from 1989 to 1994 by volunteers and tradespeople and was reopened 150 years after it was built as a tribute to the pioneers of the district. The chapel has an attractive garden, off-street parking, toilet facilities, small meeting room/kitchen and a chapel with pews. It makes an ideal venue for functions and is available for hire through The Barossa Council for weddings, naming ceremonies, memorial services, meetings, exhibitions, concerts and other celebrations. It is open to all denominations and has seating for 100 people with a kitchen and toilet facilities (including disabled).